🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

DirectX Start

Started by
4 comments, last by chaoticseed 22 years, 6 months ago
Before i start.. I went and looked down the forum to make sure my question hasn''t already been posted, and i didn''t see anyhting similar so this should be new. Bare with me Im a newbie, but im a newbie with heart!! hehe Anyways, I just downloaded SDK, I barely know anything about it. I''ve been programming for awhile, just not hardcore! like VB, a little C, html, java, but Im mostly considered a 3d animator by proffesion. Since that is over with, on with it already. Now where was I! I have SDK, I''ve just been looking at the samples, and already drooling with excitement. I''ve been trying to ---> Just for practice 1.)Somehow create an object in a 3d env. like LIGHTWAVE! and just be able to look at it in a directx window, nothing more. But, later i want to know how to move it around on a set path. Then Later, Be able to move it with the mouse or kybd (Some type of user input) Do ya understand what im doing, just starting off slow and working my way up! I forgot to mention, I have VisualBasic, are there any sites that easily and lightly explains directx and visualbasic, not all complex? I think thats all i wanted to know for now, im sure theres a lot more i need to know but that should do it for now! thx alot chaoticseed
Advertisement
Ok, i work with directx and visual basic, try read the newsgroup from microsoft public.directx.vb (here found some good links).

For start, work with the tutorial (in the directory from directx). Think drawing first a triangle, the move the triangle, then add more triangle.. and now you have a object!.

you can download 3d exploration (shareware) to export from ligthwave to .x format.