Advertisement

Help Me in my Adventure

Started by June 17, 2001 10:35 PM
2 comments, last by Duke Lion 23 years, 2 months ago
Hello everyone; I am a fledgling game designer and wish to know what, to you, composes an ideal adventure game. Although I think I have the general idea, I haven''t exactly played much in the way of good adventures. I would like to thank all of you ahead of time for your input.
Adventure''s not my most favorite genre, but I think I can offer some tips...

You probably want:

* A good story. This is something you can do well even if you don''t have the best graphics or greatest coding skills.

* Good gameplay / story integration. The story should be interspersed throughout the game, maybe in character dialog or notes / books / journals. I think players enjoy being able to discover bits and pieces of story as they go along. It''s a reward for playing.

* Clever but sensible puzzles. This one''s hard, and since I suck at puzzle solving I can''t give you any decent advice other than to say that the puzzles should be a natural part of the world. It''s always great when players can use what they know about the story and their own wits to solve a puzzle.

Things that you probably don''t need but I think you should have:

* A hint system for people who get frustrated and stuck

* Ability to save game anywhere (just was playing Omikron, and they didn''t do this. It was annoying to lose an hour of playing time because I couldn''t find the save spot!)

* Some type of repeatable gameplay that players can enjoy while they''re trying to figure out the puzzle. Stuff to fight, or difficult terrain to explore might work. I think it''s bad when players have to put the game down because they''re stuck at a puzzle (but, like I said, puzzles aren''t my specialty )

--------------------
Just waiting for the mothership...
--------------------Just waiting for the mothership...
Advertisement
Just a few additions...