🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Basic Algorithms

Started by
4 comments, last by kressilac 24 years, 6 months ago
I'm 19 and I'm not going to school until next fall. I've been a professional programmer for 3.5 years. I've always regarded myself as being born 10 years too late or just a little bit old-school. I understand very well linked lists and data structures as well as complex mathematical concepts. I guess the irony is that even though I would more that love to get a R&D type job, I have only been able to get jobs in writing business applications and e-commerce software. I always loved studying about the complexities of computer software engineering (like linked lists, data structures, etc.), and I almost lost hope in ever finding a place where people actually put such things to use. Thank you for letting me know that I'm not the only guy out there that is aware of or even interested in lower-level things like that.

-Erik L. Elmore

-Erik L. Elmore
Advertisement
I'm 24 and finshed with college. My first college that I attended for programming only taught us VB4 and was only ever going to teach VB4. This was a total waste of money because I had bought VB4 earlier and pretty much figured it out. While the math courses did eventually touch on basic stuff like MOD, they were also a waste of time.

So I went to a career college here in canada. I checked them out first before I enrolled of course, and I found that they have a whole section devoted to data structures and one on Assembly. So, I enrolled. I wouldn't say that it was the best school, but at least I learned a few things that came in handy a couple of times.

I already understood most of the stuff they taught, but atleast now I have a piece of paper telling other people that I do.

William Reiach - Human Extrodinaire

Marlene and Me