🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Design Documents

Started by
6 comments, last by InsaneBoarder234 18 years, 2 months ago
I've only ever made simple beginner games such as breakout and I've never sat down and wrote a design document before making a game but I figured it would be a good idea for 4E5 seeing as this will hopefully be my first successful big game project. As I've never done one before, I'm not quite sure where to start and I've a feeling there may be other people taking part in this contest who are in the same position. Has anyone got any tips or suggestions etc for creating a game design document? Cheers!
Progress is born from the opportunity to make mistakes.

My prize winning Connect 4 AI looks one move ahead, can you beat it? @nickstadb
Advertisement
Dig around in the referece section a bit, there should be some design document templates hiding somewhere in there.
Design Documents is a good place to start looking around. Unfortunately, you'll quickly find that many of the good articles are located on Gamasutra, which annoyingly requires your Title, company, company position, mailing address and random demographics to sign up and view anything. Then, you receive too many emails from them, and realize that nobody grammar- or error- checked the dumb articles anyway.

Just for kicks, here's the definition from the GDNet dictionary: