🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Best college/technical school? Help!

Started by
2 comments, last by SuperSix 23 years, 7 months ago
Hi guys, I am currently a senior in high school and I want to get into a career in the gaming industry. Im not exactly sure what field yet. Either programming or graphics. Right now I have some experience with 3d graphics. I am in a multimedia class at a technical school, outside my high school. We have done all the basics, and are starting on organics and such. I love games with a passion, and would love to create them. I dont have very much programming experience, but im willing to learn. I currently have my eye on a technical school in Florida called Full Sail. Does anyone have experience with this school? It looks very promising. www.fullsail.com Im sure this post looks very ignorant and niave(sp?) but im kinda lost about what the best way to prepare for the industry is. Any help would be much appreciated!
Advertisement
Keep in mind that Full Sail will only get you an associates degree. As such, your education at that school will be entirely related to the field you choose (ie., game design) and you will not get the education that a university can offer. Basically, as far as I can tell, unless you are absolutly positive that you will go into the industry you choose to study at Full Sail, I wouldn''t attend that tech. school but rather more of a traiditional university, where you can get a more widespread education (such as all types of gfx or programming). That way, you could be ready for the entertainment industry, or the scientific field (I suggest you look into this, much more job security, and you can still do graphics design or prgramming, such as simulations).

Just some ideas.

Ben